John and Nancy Wilson: Red Book Recollections

Whitman Publishing’s Guide Book of United States Coins, also known as the Red Book, now in its 72nd edition, has a long and storied history. Noted numismatists John and Nancy Wilson share their thoughts.

Richard “Dick” Yeoman was one of the greatest numismatists of our time. Very few have achieved what he did during his lifetime in the numismatic hobby. Mr. Yeoman was the recipient of just about every honor that could be bestowed on an individual from many numismatic organizations. Besides being a governor of the American Numismatic Association, he received their Medal of Merit in 1952 and the Farran Zerbe Award in 1956. He was installed in the ANA Hall of Fame in 1978. We can remember going to the Racine Numismatic Society meetings in the 1970s and 1980s. It was like a Who’s Who at the RNS meetings. Some of the luminaries that attended regularly were Mr. Yeoman, Ken Bressett, Ed Metzger, and Neil Shafer. Of course, with Western Publishing located in Racine, many of these luminaries lived in the immediate area.

Click here to read more.

Comments are closed.